“I Want To Marry You” Cookies

The holidays are over and many of us are trying to move past all of the cookies, cakes,  and candy we ate. But I can’t move forward without paying my respects to a new cookie recipe that I found. And loved.

Our office hosts a cookie exchange each year. In the weeks (ok, months. Ok, we’re already planning this year’s) leading up to it, we talk a lot about cookies. We look for cookies online. We remember fondly cookies of past Christmas seasons.

I had a short list of cookies/treats that I was considering for this year’s exchange. Then I scrapped the whole list when I found this recipe on The Cooking Channel’s website. There were several reasons that it appealed to me. 1) It looked easy. 2) It looked tasty and 3) I had almost everything on hand to make it.

I really wanted to change the name though. I even posed the question to my Fb friends. Suggestions included “Double Chocolate Oatmeal Delights”, “Catch ‘Em and Keep ‘Em Cookies” “I’m Already Taken Cookies”, and “Happily Ever  After Cookies”. Since I’m already married, I considered “So Good He Put a Ring On It Cookies”. I also kept thinking of that old episode of Designing Women where the girls sing “Wedding Bell Blues” so I kind of wanted to call these “Come On and Marry Me Bill Cookies”. But my husband isn’t Bill and we do work in the same building, so I didn’t want to start any rumors.

So, I didn’t rename the cookies. Pardon me for just putting you through a pointless story.

The cookies are a cross between a chocolate chip cookie and an oatmeal cookie. I really enjoyed them, and they were all claimed at the cookie exchange. It’s definitely a keeper recipe.

  

 I Want to Marry You Cookies

1 cup butter

1 1/4 cups dark brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 egg

1 egg yolk

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

2 cups flour

1 cup uncooked rolled oats

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon Salt

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 cup white chocolate chips

1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 325 F.

In a medium saucepan, melt the butter completely over medium heat. Remove from the heat.

Add the brown sugar and granulated sugar and stir until sugars are incorporated and smooth. Chill the mixture in the refrigerator for 10 minutes.

Remove from the refrigerator and stir in the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla.

Add the flour, oats, baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and cinnamon and mix together.

Stir in both kinds of chips. 

Roll by hand into 24 medium-size balls or use a scoop, and chill for 30 minutes. You can place your dough balls on a cookie sheet to do this, or you can do what I did,  which was to layer them in a bowl with wax paper between each layer. 

Remove the cookies from the refrigerator and bake for 12 to 14 minutes.
One thought on ““I Want To Marry You” Cookies

Leave a Reply

