Honey Roasted Roasted Brussels Sprouts

If there is a list somewhere of the most hated and feared vegetables, I would venture to say that the Brussels sprout is on the list. And in my opinion, it’s very undeserved. I didn’t grow up eating Brussels sprouts; in fact, it was only a few years ago that I event tried them. Shortly after that fateful first meeting, I introduced them to my parents who liked them as well. Now, they have become an occasional side dish at my annual Christmas dinner.

My go-to method of preparing them was to simply toss them in some olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and roast them. I think any veggie is tasty fixed like that. But when I saw this recipe on Money Saving Mom, I knew I had to try it. The dried cranberries give a festive look that is perfect for your holiday meal or any meal of the year.

I prepared this dish this year at my Christmas dinner and it was the first time that a couple of family members had tried Brussels sprouts. And guess what? They asked for the recipe. Yep, they are that good.

IMG_3079

Honey Roasted Brussels Sprouts
1 lb. Brussels Spouts, trimmed, cut in half and washed
2 Tbsp. olive oil
salt and pepper
2 Tbsp. honey
1 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup sliced almonds
Preheat oven to 350.

Put the Brussels sprouts in a bowl. Pour the oil over and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Toss to coat and season.

Put a single layer on a cookie sheet, cut side down. Roast for about 35 minutes at 350 degrees — until tender and edges are starting to brown.

Take cookie sheet out of the oven and drizzle  sprouts with honey and sprinkle with cranberries and almonds. Return to oven and bake for another 5 minutes — or until warmed through.

Serves 4 to 6.

Leave a Reply

