Found on Pinterest: Orange Chicken

I love Chinese food. Unfortunately, my husband does not so ordering Chinese takeout is not really thing at my house. Also, I tend to like the very unhealthy selections which makes it even more of an occasional treat. So, I’m always on the lookout for a fairly easy make-at-home Chinese inspired option.

This recipe for Orange Chicken fit the bill in terms of being easy and also relatively healthy. There is another popular crockpot version of Orange Chicken on the inter webs that uses a sauce made of orange marmalade and barbecue sauce. I chose this one because I actually had some fresh oranges and ginger on hand for a smoothie recipe so I thought I thought it would be a fresher tasting dish.

This dish is supposed to be a copycat of sorts of Panda Express’s Orange Chicken. I’ve only eaten at Panda Express once and honestly don’t remember what I ate but I don’t think it was Orange Chicken so I can’t tell you how well this one stacks up.

If you look at the original recipe and then at my picture, you will see they are not exactly twins. My chicken didn’t get nearly as brown and my sauce also didn’t thicken. Both factors are due to the fact that I kind of rushed the recipe. I sautéed my chicken until it was done but not really that brown. I also only used less than a pound of chicken but kept the other ingredients the same so I’d have lots of sauce. Maybe it was because I had a lot of sauce or maybe it was because I grew impatient but my sauce didn’t thicken.

Regardless, I enjoyed this dish. I served it with PF Chang’s new frozen steamed  brown rice and mini vegetable egg rolls. I boxed up the leftovers for my lunch and I think it was even better the next day since the rice soaked up all of that extra sauce. So, for a quick Chinese night at home, I thought it was pretty awesome!

IMG_3052

Orange Chicken

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts
2 tablespoons butter
1/2 cup orange juice
zest of 1 orange
3 tablespoons oyster sauce
2 tablespoons honey
2 teaspoons minced ginger
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes, optional

Cube the chicken into bite-sized pieces.

Heat the butter in large skillet and cook chicken until brown and cooked through.

While the chicken is cooking, prep the sauce. Mix the orange juice, orange zest, oyster sauce, honey, ginger, and red pepper flakes  (if using, I didn’t) in a small bowl.

Add the sauce to the chicken and cook until the sauce has thickened slightly.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

