Taking Control of Christmas

 It’s the first day of December and the countdown to Christmas is ON! As much as many of us love the holiday season, it can be a little stressful. Gifts to buy, presents to wrap, decorations to put up, covered dishes to bake…the list goes on and on. Over the years, I’ve seen several cute “how to” guides for putting together Christmas planners or journals. But who has time for that? I still haven’t finished the yarn wreath that I started last year!

A few weeks ago, I stumbled upon The FlyLady’s Holiday Control Journal. If you aren’t familiar with Fly Lady, she’s an online helpmate of sorts to assist you with cleaning and maintaining your home. I’ve followed her off and on for years. One of her guiding principles is to do everything in 15 minute increments. Her arguement is that you can do ANYTHING for 15 minutes per day. All of her holiday help can be found here; just click on the Control Journal link for the free PDF of the journal.

I decided to give her Holiday Journal a try. I bought a 49 cent folder to put my journal in along with an envelope for receipts, an envelope of store coupons (excluding grocery), and a photocopy of the month of December from my planner.

Will it help me actually take control of Christmas? Stay tuned gentle readers…I’ll be updating you weekly!

Leave a Reply

