Nilla Wafer “Cake Bites”

Last year, this recipe popped up as a sponsored post on Facebook. I decided to give it a try for my family’s Christmas dinner. To me, these were just okay but my husband LOVED them. In fact, he liked them so much that he asked me to make a double batch  for us to take to his family’s house for our Christmas visit. I did as he requested thinking that I’d take them to our get together with the extended family on Christmas Eve. Well as it turns out, my father-in-law liked them as much as my husband and they wouldn’t let me take them to the party! So while these might not be my favorite, they definitely are going to be repeated again. You could really decorate them anyway you choose and serve them for any occasion.

Let me apologize for the poor photographs. The lighting in December is not great and I’m not yet up to speed on my new flash.

Nilla Wafer Cake Bites

IMG_2684

36 Nilla Wafers

2 Tbsp. orange juice

1/4 cup raspberry jam

8 oz. white candy coating wafers (about 1-1/2 cups)

1 Tbsp. oil

Assorted decorations:  colored sprinkles, M&Ms, colored sugar, decorating icings, etc.

Brush flat sides of 24 NILLA Wafers with juice, then spread with jam. Place remaining wafers, rounded sides up, on waxed paper-covered baking sheet; top each with 2 jam-topped wafers, jam sides down. Refrigerate 6 hours or until firm enough to handle. Melt  candy wafers as directed on package; stir in oil until blended. Dip NILLA stacks, 1 at a time, in melted candy wafers, turning to evenly coat stack and reheating candy wafer mixture if needed. Return to baking sheet. Immediately drizzle with decorating icings or melted candy wafers, sprinkle with crushed candies or sugar and/or add decorations to resemble photo.

REFRIGERATE  30 min. or until candy coating is firm. Keep refrigerated.

I’m not too proud to admit that I used Candy Quik coating rather than wafers and oil. Easy to melt and you can toss the microwavable tray later!

 

Leave a Reply

