Ham and Cheese Sliders

These sliders are all over social media, and there are dozens of variations of them. I love a good hot ham and cheese sandwich so I felt the odds were pretty good that I would enjoy these. My husband doesn’t eat ham so I had been waiting for an occasion to fix these. Such an occasion came in the form of my son’s birthday party. These sliders were a huge hit with our guests (and me!). I think they were maybe even better when they had cooled a bit. There were two left over, and they reheated marvelously the next day. I have my fingers crossed that this is something my son might enjoy one day because I could totally see me making a pan of these and eating them as grab n go snacks and lunches.

The great thing about this recipe is that you can mix it up however you want. I looked at a couple of recipes on the King’s Hawaiian rolls website, and also looked at this recipe. I ended up making a couple of modifications.

  

Ham and Cheese Sliders

1 stick butter, melted
1 tablespoon honey mustard
2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
15 King’s Hawaiian rolls
1 pound thinly sliced deli ham (I like Boar’s Head or Kroger’s Private Selection)
8-10 slices of Provolone cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a 9×13-inch baking dish with nonstick spray.

Melt butter then whisk in mustard,and Worcestershire sauce.

Slice the rolls in half and place the bottoms in your prepared pan. I tried cutting the entire sheet of rolls together as suggested by some on the interwebs and didn’t really find that very sucessful. Once you have all of your roll bottoms in the pan, layer a piece of ham on each roll. I folded my slices in half then folded again to make them fit. Follow this up with a layer of cheese. I folded the cheese in similiar manner. It was round so I folded in half, then in half again but I only put one quarter of the slice for each layer. Follow this up with another layer of ham, then another layer of cheese. Each sandwich will have two pieces of ham and two sections of cheese.

Drizzle your butter mixture on top of each sandwich using a teaspoon. You will likely have leftover butter so you can either make more sandwiches or just pour the rest into the pan for extra butter loving.

Bake for about 20 minutes until your sliders are warmed through, the cheese is melted and the tops of the rolls are lightly browned. Enjoy warm, room temperature or cold!

Leave a Reply

