Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings 

I don’t know that any dish represents good old Kentucky country cooking like chicken and dumplings do. Few foods bring out the excitement in people that a good pot of dumplings can. Dumpling making can be intimidating, and I admit that it’s not something I’ve tried very often. When I’d see recipes for slow cooker chicken and dumplings, I’d usually just scroll on by because, well, there ain’t nothing like the real thing, baby.

A few weeks ago, my hair stylist told me about her recipe for slow cooker dumplings. “You’ll probably laugh,” she said. “You being a southern girl and all.” (She’s a Yankee, bless her heart.) But it sounded so good, and I had all of the ingredients on hand so I decided to try it.

I browsed Pinterest briefly for a couple of recipes just to make sure I remembered the recipe right and to look for any helpful hints. The recipe I followed was probably most like this one although I omitted the onion (what? onion in dumplings?) and adjusted the cooking speed (more on that later).

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings  

IMG_4564-0
2 Tablespoons Butter
4 boneless, skinless chicken breast (or 6 skinless chicken thighs)
2 cans of Cream of Chicken Soup
2 small packages Grands Jr biscuits (10 biscuits)
flour for dusting
cooking spray
Spray the slow cooker with cooking spray then add chicken, butter, and soup. Add enough water or broth to cover the chicken up. I halved this recipe. For the water, I used the soup can for measurement, and it took about a can and a half. Use your best judgement based on how much chicken you use and how big your cooker is. Cook on low for 8 hours.
About a half hour before serving, start working on your dumplings. Prepare a floured surface to roll the biscuit dough on. In the comments of one of the recipes I read, I found this GENIUS tip. Spritz a little water on your counter top then lay down piece of wax or parchment paper. The paper will stay put and you can throw the mess away when you are done.

Then roll out each biscuit to flatten it. How flat should you go? Well, it depends on how fluffy you like your dumpling. Cut the flattened biscuits into pieces. The sizes do not have to be consistent. Make sure you give the pieces a little toss in the flour to get them coated. The flour will keep them from sticking.

Remove the lid of your cooker-watch out for steam-and shred your chicken into the desired sized pieces with two forks. Give it a good stir. Drop the dumplings on top of the hot chicken.

Now, my mom always told me to never, ever stir dumplings. I take this as the gospel so I didn’t stir these either. Instead, I held the handles of the slow cooker and gave it a gentle shake to make sure that all the dumplings were touching the liquid. Then I turned the speed up to High and let the dumplings cook for 30 minutes, giving them that gentle shake every 10 minutes or so. I have no idea if this helped or hurt, I’m just telling you what I did.

The end result? I thought they were ok. Not as good as Mom’s or Cracker Barrel but then I knew they wouldn’t be. There are a couple of things I would do differently. I would add more liquid. I would also use a plain biscuit flavor. Mine was butter flavor and it was a little strong. I will probably make these again because while they weren’t like homemade ones, they weren’t bad either and would be a good week night dish.

Leave a Reply

