Found on Pinterest: Chicken Fajita Pasta

I love Mexican style foods, and I have really grown to love one skillet dishes so when I found this recipe on Pinterest, I didn’t waste any time making it. I can’t remember the last time I was so excited to try a recipe. And this one was definitely worth the hype that I had built up for it in my head.

As usual, I have a few things to say about it. Like most of you, I’m anxious to get dinner on the table each evening so I look for as many shortcuts as possible. I cut my chicken into cubes the night before and sprinkled the fajita seasoning on it. Not only did this save me some dinner night prep work, it also added extra flavor to my chicken. I also cut up my vegetables the night before and stored them in a separate container.

For the actual preparation, I didn’t sauté my veggies as long as recommended so mine stayed more of a “crisp tender” instead of the softer fajita style. I also used one of those healthier pastas with extra protein and it didn’t seem to get as soft as regular pasta although that might have been my fault as I may have rushed it.

While I thought the dish was very good the night I made it, I think it was AMAZING the next day. In fact, I think the next time, I’ll make it, let it cool and stick the whole thing in the fridge and serve it later.

If you like, quick easy dinners with a little kick, try it!

Chicken Fajita Pasta
IMG_3003

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 envelope (3 tablespoons) taco or fajita seasoning
2 cups diced onion (about 1 whole onion)
2 cups diced bell peppers (2-3 bell peppers) I used all red
2 cups chicken broth
½ cup heavy cream
1 (10-oz) can Ro-Tel Diced Tomatoes and Green Chiles
8 oz (about 3 cups) penne pasta

Cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces. Season with half of taco seasoning. (I did this the night before). In a 12-inch skillet (I used cast iron-it seemed mored fajita-y), heat 1 tablespoon olive oil over high heat. When the oil is very hot, carefully add the chicken in a single layer and cook without stirring until one side is browned, about 1-2 minutes. Flip the chicken to the other side and cook until browned. Remove the chicken to a plate and set aside.

Add the remaining 1 tablespoon of olive oil to the skillet with the heat still on high. When the oil is very hot again, add the onions, bell peppers, and remaining taco seasoning. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the veggies are slightly blackened. Remove the veggies to the plate with the chicken.

In the same skillet, add the broth, cream, diced tomatoes, uncooked pasta, and salt. Stir to combine and bring to a boil, then cover, reduce heat to medium-low, and cook for 15 minutes until pasta is tender and liquid is mostly absorbed. Add the chicken and veggies back into the skillet and stir to combine until heated through, about 2 minutes. Let the fiesta begin!

Leave a Reply

