From Freezer to Slow Cooker: Chicken Tater Tot Casserole

With my first experience of freezer cooking going so well (read about it here), I was anxious to try the second meal I’d prepared: Chicken Tater Tot Casserole. This recipe also came from New Leaf Wellness.  A few years ago, I might have turned my nose up at the idea of tater tots but the need to provide a quick, toddler friendly meal has knocked me off my nutritional high horse just a tad.

This meal came together really quickly. The biggest time investment was cutting up the chicken. I found a tip online about standing your freezer bag upright in a pitcher to keep the food from spilling out while you work. It was a great tip!

IMG_2945

Meal prep clocked in just under 11 minutes. IMG_2946

Ready for the freezer! IMG_2947

The results? Wonderful! I actually overcooked this one a tad. My slow cooker doesn’t have a timer-I’m going to have to invest in a timer switch if I’m going to keep on keeping on with freezer cooking-so I chose to prepare this one on a day that my parents were babysitting at my house so my mom could turn the slow cooker off as directed. The problem was that I misdirected her on when to turn it off so it overcooked slightly. I actually like slightly burnt cheesy potato type things so I thought it was fine but it would have gone up in smoke if I’d left it for a whole work day. So, the 4 to 6 hour cooking time is no joke!

That little issue aside, this is a cheesy flavorful dish. The big question of whether my toddler would eat it was answered quickly when he tasted a bite then immediately started reaching for his plate for more. The chicken was nice and tender and easy for him to chew. It was a tad salty so next time I will skip the added salt.

Chicken Tater Tot Casserole

IMG_2992

32oz bag frozen tater tots

3oz bag bacon pieces (look out for the little square of paper inside! )

1 pound boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces

8 oz cheddar cheese, shredded (2 cups)

3/4 cup 2% milk (any kind will do)

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

Add all ingredients into a gallon freezer bag. Put the chicken on top so that it will be on the bottom when you pour all of the ingredients into your slow cooker. Squeeze out all of the air, seal up the bag and freeze for up to 3 months.

The night before you want to serve, place the meal into the refrigerator to thaw overnight. Place in slow cooker the next morning and cook on low for 4 to 6 hours.

Leave a Reply

