Found on Pinterest: One Pot Cabbage Roll Casserole

Do you like cabbage?

It’s not everyone’s favorite. But I love it! Honestly though, I’ve never had a real cabbage roll. And I see recipes all the time on Pinterest for different cabbage rolls. When I found this one, I thought it looked pretty tasty. I happened to have everything on hand to make it so I went for it. Y’all…this recipe rocks!

I made a few changes. I used ground turkey rather than beef. I also used fire roasted tomatoes for a little extra flavor. I used mozzarella cheese which gave it almost a lasagna type taste.

Really, I don’t have much else to say except it’s awesome. Oh and it makes a LOT of food. Even using only 1.25 pounds of turkey (WHY is turkey sold in this proportion?), it made way more than I could eat. So, I froze two helpings of it. I’ll update the post once I’ve tasted the frozen portions.

One Pot Cabbage Roll Casserole

IMG_2778

1.25 lbs. ground turkey
Salt and pepper (Cajun or Italian seasoning would be good too)
1 onion, chopped
1 cup rice, uncooked
3 large handfuls of roughly chopped cabbage
1 8 oz. can tomato sauce
2 cups of water
1 14 oz. can diced fire roasted tomatoes, undrained
1 cup shredded cheese (I used mozzarella)

Note: Be sure to use the deepest skillet you have because this makes a lot of food and it’s very easy for it to boil over once it gets cooking. Not that mine boiled over and made a mess on my cook top…oh no..nothing like that.

Season and brown ground turkey and onion.

Once onions are clear and soft,  add rice, cabbage, tomato sauce, 2 cups of water and diced tomatoes. Stir it all up.

Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to medium low and cover to simmer for about 20 to 30 minutes or until rice is done and cabbage is soft. Be sure to leave the lid on your skillet for 20 minutes to make sure rice cooks well.

Once cooked, top with cheese and cover with lid to melt a few minutes.

Leave a Reply

