Red Velvet Poke Cake

My husband and I have never been the types to go out for Valentine’s Day. Generally, I cook although there were a couple of Valentine pizzas over the years. This year, I wanted to make something that all three of us could enjoy. I settled on spaghetti.

Spaghetti is kind of a special meal for us. My husband brought his recipe for spaghetti sauce into our marriage. We actually bought the ingredients and fixed spaghetti on our honeymoon. So, it seemed fitting. Along with it, we had salad with Olive Garden dressing, garlic bread and this Red Velvet Poke Cake recipe courtesy of The Country Cook.

Motherhood has made me more prone to decorating for obscure holidays so I whipped up this little centerpiece for our big meal.

IMG_2222

The potted heart was a find at Michael’s. Since it was the day before Valentine’s Day, it was 40% off. I also picked up the red votive holders pretty cheap. Unfortunately, I either used all of my little battery powered votives or I stashed them somewhere after Christmas because they were not to be found. Oh well. I also decorated baby boy’s seat with hearts cut out from the Valentine gift bag that my mom had his gifts in.
IMG_2223

But oh yes, on with the cake. Poke cake, if you’re not familiar, is a cake with holes poked in it. You then pour pudding on top and it seeps into the holes and into the cake. The Country Cook has lots of different varieties of poke cake. I made a Banana Pudding version for Easter last year.

The cake was pretty and very festive for Valentine’s Day. I didn’t get the Oreos on top as she suggests. I bought them and their whereabouts now are not up for discussion. I couldn’t find the cheesecake flavored pudding so I used white chocolate and it was a good combination. Both of my Valentines enjoyed it.

The Country Cook’s Red Velvet Poke Cake

IMG_2770

1 box Red Velvet cake mix

ingredients needed to make cake (eggs, oil & water)

2 (3.4 oz.) boxes instant Cheesecake-flavored pudding (White Chocolate works fine!)

4 cups milk

1 (8 oz.) tub frozen whipped topping, thawed

10 Oreo cookies, crushed (optional)

 

Directions:

Prepare cake mix according to package directions for a 9×13 cake.

Once cake comes out of the oven, allow it to cool for just a couple of minutes.

Then, with a wooden spoon handle, a spatula handle, or some other similarly-sized object, begin poking holes in the warm cake. I used a bamboo skewer because my wooden spoons have flat ends. Since it was smaller than a spoon, I had to poke and then twirl the skewer around a little to make the holes bigger.

In a medium bowl, whisk together pudding mix with 4 cups of milk.

Whisk until all the lumps are gone.

Pour pudding over cake. Be sure to pour it right into the holes as much as possible.

Spread it all out and using the back of the spoon, gently push pudding down into the holes.

Put the cake into the fridge to set and cool (about 2 hours)

When cake is good and cooled and settled and all, spread the whipped topping evenly on top. If you use the Oreos, crush them up and sprinkle liberally across the top. Or you can add them just before serving to keep them crunchier.

Or you can eat them during the Winter Storm of 2015. Just sayin.

The cake needs to be kept refrigerated.

Leave a Reply

