Can You Stay For Dinner’s Fool Proof Turkey Meatloaf

I haven’t been this excited about a meatloaf since…well, ever.

Meatloaf is a food that I can never make as good as my mom despite having helped her make dozens of meatloaves over the years.

I stumbled upon this recipe on the site Can You Stay For Dinner, a lovely food blog that I enjoy reading. This meatloaf was a little different because 1) It’s made with turkey and 2) It gets its flavors from a variety of seasonings rather than chopped onions and peppers like a traditional meatloaf. I decided to try it since it would be different enough from traditional meatloaf for me not to compare it to Mom’s and it seemed mild and tender enough for my baby boy and his four teeth to enjoy.

In a word, this meatloaf is awesome! Very flavorful and not the least bit dry (which is always a concern of mine with ground turkey). Baby boy loved it, too. I think the next time, I will form it into meatballs. It was also delicious cold the next day.

The only change that I made to the original recipe was to decrease the thyme to a half teaspoon based on a reader’s comment.

Can You Stay For Dinner’s Fool Proof Turkey MeatloafIMG_2767

1 pound extra-lean ground turkey breast (93% lean)*

¼ cup plus 2 tablespoons ketchup

1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

2 garlic cloves, minced (1 tablespoon)

1 large egg

1/3 cup plain breadcrumbs

2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese

1/2 teaspoon dried thyme

1 teaspoon dried oregano

½ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. In a large bowl, combine the turkey, ¼ cup of ketchup, and all remaining ingredients and mix well with your hands. (Remove your rings, don’t be a Paula). Transfer mixture to a sprayed baking dish (I used a loaf pan) and form it into a loaf shape. Spread the remaining 2 tablespoons of ketchup over the top and sides of the loaf. Bake for 40 minutes.

Tips and Notes:

*For reasons unknown, it seems you can only find ground turkey in a 1.25 pound package in these parts. That’s what I used and it was all good.
** Although the original recipe states to serve immediately, I find that meatloaf needs about 10 minutes or so to rest and pull itself together.
***Since the baking time is so short, you could totally mix this up ahead of time. I did. I let the meat mixture hang out in the fridge, set it out while the oven heated, then transferred it to the loaf pan. DO NOT put a cold, glass baking dish in a hot oven. Trust me on this one.

Leave a Reply

