Peanut Butter Fudge

Here in Kentucky, we really don’t need a holiday in order to appreciate some good fudge. There are two-count ’em two-fudge shops open year around in the town where I live. However, most people I know do wait until Christmas time to start making fudge.

This is my mother-in-law’s recipe. She makes different types of fudge each year and I always wipe out the peanut butter fudge. I had never tried making it and I’m not sure why because this recipe is super easy.

I had a minor setback when I could not find my 8×8 square pan. Since the peanut butter fudge train had already left the station, I used a round 9 inch cake pan. No harm done.

Peanut Butter Fudge

IMG_2633

You’ll need:

2 sticks of butter

1 cup of peanut butter ( I prefer Creamy Jif)

4 cups of confectioners sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

First, line an 8×8 or 9×9 baking pan with aluminum foil leaving a bit of foil hanging over to help lift the fudge out. You’ll thank me later.

Next, sift your confectioners sugar into a medium sized bowl. You don’t have to have a sifter; just use a metal strainer like I do. This will get the lumps out of your sugar and make stirring much smoother.

Then, melt your butter and peanut butter over medium heat in a sauce pan. I like to give the butter about a one minute head start before adding the peanut butter. (Of course, you can do this in the microwave if you prefer). Once the butter starts to melt, reduce the heat so that it doesn’t scorch.

Add your nice smooth butter-peanut butter mixture to the sugar. Now is the time to add your vanilla as well.

Stir it all up until combined. It will start to look and smell like fudge. Press it down evenly into your prepared pan. It may have a slightly glossy or greasy look. That is ok.

Refrigerate for 4 hours until the fuge is set. Lift it out of the pan using your foil over hang and cut into squares. Store in an air-tight container in the refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

