Greek Chickpea Salad

It’s not often that you find culinary inspiration in a college dining hall, but that’s exactly where this recipe came from in a roundabout way. I first tried a Greek chickpea salad at our university cafeteria and liked it so much that I started looking for a copycat. I ended up piecing together several recipes to come up with this one. Cucumber is a popular component of Greek salads but it’s one vegetable that I just do not care for so I substituted zucchini. I also added in a few sprigs of chopped mint from my herb garden.

This salad is both light and hearty and I enjoyed it as a main dish for lunch.

Greek Chickpea Salad

IMG_2522

1/2 small red onion, thinly sliced
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
Coarse salt and ground pepper
1 medium zucchini, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1 cup diced tomatoes
1/2 cup reduced fat crumbled feta (2 ounces)
1 can (15.5 ounces) chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1/2 cup pitted Kalamata olives, roughly chopped
1/2 cup lightly packed fresh parsley leaves

Toss it all together in a bowl and serve immediately; or serve chilled.

Leave a Reply

