Tomato Pie

While the pie was a rousing success, I failed totally on getting a picture of it with my “real” camera. In my defense, I feel that I did well to bake a pie on a workday and still make it to work without forgetting shoes or the baby. I guess I’ll be forced to bake another one for photography purposes…

When I joined my CSA, I immediately began pinning recipes to try with my newfound vegetable wealth. And I knew from the start that Tomato Pie would be one of them. I’d never actually eaten Tomato Pie but I have a friend who loves it and I’d seen the recipe before in a magazine. I chose to use Paula Deen’s recipe. When I’m looking for a good ole Southern/country recipe, I start with my mom and if she doesn’t have the answer I turn to Paula. I don’t consider myself a Paula fan really but in her early years of Food Network, before she became so orange and loud and over the top with the butter and the accent, she was just a good ole country cook that I enjoyed watching. I’ve tried and loved many of her early recipes.

I lightened this recipe up a little and I can’t say that it suffered any. It was gobbled up in a half hour by my co-workers and me. Tomato Pie was a new experience for them as well and reviews were positive. I did neglect to notice though that I was supposed to peel the tomatoes. It didn’t hurt the taste any to have the peel on them but it did make it a little more awkward to slice.

I used tomatoes and green onions from my CSA.

Tomato Pie

Ingredients

4 tomatoes, peeled and sliced
10 fresh basil leaves, chopped (or 1 tsp dried basil)
1/2 cup chopped green onion
1 (9-inch) prebaked deep dish pie shell
1 cup grated mozzarella
1 cup grated reduced fat sharp cheddar
¾ cup light mayonnaise
Salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Place the tomatoes in a colander in the sink in 1 layer. Sprinkle with salt and allow to drain for 10 minutes. The salt will help bring out the liquid in your tomatoes. Pat dry with paper towels. If your tomatoes are too wet, your pie will be soggy so don’t skimp on the patting.

Layer the tomato slices, basil, and onion in pie shell. Season with salt and pepper. Combine the grated cheeses and mayonnaise together. Spread mixture on top of the tomatoes and bake for 30 minutes or until lightly browned.

To serve, cut into slices and serve warm.

Adapted from this recipe by Paula Deen.

Leave a Reply

