Chicken Dumpling Casserole

I’m not that big on casseroles except for my beloved holiday side dishes like Broccoli Casserole. And I especially avoid any kind of “easy” chicken and dumpling recipes that I see everywhere on Pinterest. Chicken and dumplings are a sacred thing; no shortcuts allowed. But I was drawn to this recipe during a cold snap a couple of weeks ago on Veronica’s Cornucopia. Like me, Veronica is a new mom so when she said this was a meal you could throw together while tending to a newborn, I thought I’d give it a try.

Around the same time that I found this recipe, I made a life changing discover at my local supermarket: you can buy rotisserie chicken already shredded and in a neat little container. You may be asking yourself, Is she too lazy to debone her own rotisserie chicken? The answer would be yes.

So with my lazy woman’s chicken in hand, I was ready to tackle this recipe. Veronica called it correctly, it comes together super fast. I used chicken stock rather than chicken broth. Stock is a little richer and as this casserole baked there was this delicious smell in the house reminiscent of Thanksgiving. I was excited before it ever came out of the oven!

And it didn’t disappoint. I really loved this casserole. I over baked mine slightly but I enjoyed the brown edges. It’s not like a big bowl of your mom’s chicken and dumplings (or Cracker Barrel’s if your mom doesn’t cook) but it is a delicious main course that a busy working mama (or papa) can throw together quickly. Thanks Veronica!

IMG_2434

Chicken and Dumpling Casserole

3 – 4 cups cooked chicken, cut into bite sized pieces (use rotisserie chicken if desired)
4 tablespoons butter
1 cup milk
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups chicken stock
1 (10.75 oz) can cream of chicken soup

Preheat oven to 400F. Place butter in 9″ X 13″ baking dish and place in oven while it’s preheating. Once butter is melted, remove the pan to continue with the recipe. Sprinkle prepared chicken over the top of the butter. In a medium bowl, whisk together milk, flour, baking powder and salt. Pour over the chicken, but do not stir. In same bowl, after scraping out as much flour mixture as possible, whisk together chicken broth and cream of chicken soup. Pour that over top of casserole; do not stir.

Bake uncovered for 35 – 45 minutes. When done, the top will be beautifully browned and bubbly around the edges.

Yield: about 6 servings

One thought on “Chicken Dumpling Casserole

Leave a Reply

