Strawberry Cream Cheese Bread

Of all of the fruits and veggies that I will encounter in my CSA adventures, I daresay that strawberries will be one of the easiest ones to find recipes for. I had no trouble gathering strawberry recipes and I chose this one because I love bread, and also because it called for buttermilk, which I had on hand from making the Strawberry Cornmeal Muffins.

There are several versions of this recipe out on the inter webs and I used one found at The Baker Upstairs. I made no changes to her recipe; there was no need to! My taste testers told me that they enjoyed the bread even more than the muffins. And they really liked the muffins!
IMG_2445
Strawberry Cream Cheese Bread

1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
4 ounces cream cheese, softened
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 1/2 cups strawberries, rinsed, dried and chopped

Spray a 9×5 inch loaf pan with cooking spray. Using an electric mixer, cream the butter, sugar and cream cheese until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time. Mix in vanilla. In separate bowl, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Blend flour mixture with butter mixture just until blended. Add buttermilk and stir until just combined; do not over mix. Carefully fold in strawberries. Dough mixture will be thick. Bake in a 350°F oven for 50 to 60 minutes.

Shout out to my honey of a hubby who came to my rescue when my stand mixer got out of whack during mid-recipe!

Leave a Reply

