Strawberry Cornmeal Muffins

I’ve been slow getting posts ups because I’ve just been dang busy. But with the long Memorial Day weekend here, I’m finally getting some time to work on the ole blog. I had hoped to update weekly as I receive my CSA boxes but that just hasn’t happened. And frankly, you haven’t missed much. The star of each week has been beautiful, sweet strawberries. It’s just too early in the season for much else.

IMG_2436

My first CSA box came with a sample of Strawberry Cornmeal Muffins. I was a little skeptical. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve eaten enough cornbread in my life to fill a football stadium. But I don’t like mine sweet. It’s one of those things like Coke vs Pepsi, you either like sweet cornbread or not-sweet cornbread. I liked the samples though and decided to make my own using some of my strawberries and the freshly ground cornmeal that came in the box. Because my CSA farmers are awesome, they had emailed us the recipe earlier in the week.

I ended up loving these muffins! When served warm with a little butter, it was just like cornbread with strawberry jam. I took some samples to work and they were a hit. I will definitely be making these again!

Strawberry Cornmeal Muffins

IMG_2437
For 12 regular muffins or 24 mini-muffins
1 cup white cornmeal
1 cup all-purpose flour
½ cup granulated sugar, plus a little more for sprinkling on top
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
1 egg, beaten
¼ cup oil
1 cup buttermilk
1 cup chopped strawberries

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and grease muffin cups or line with cupcake liners.

Sift together dry ingredients, then form a well in the middle of the mixture and add the egg, oil and milk. Stir thoroughly with a whisk or spoon until just combined. Fold in strawberries and pour into muffin cups, about ¾ full. Sprinkle a bit of sugar on top.

For regular muffins bake for 20 minutes, for mini muffins, bake 12-15 minutes. Cool, remove from muffin tins and enjoy.

Try them warm with a dab of butter. And if your idea of a dab is like a tablespoon, well, I won’t judge.

IMG_2440

Leave a Reply

