Butterscotch Pie

Note: For various reasons, I do not have a good picture of my pie to share. Hopefully, the next time I bake one I can update with some glorious photography.

My mother always made her cream pies from scratch, from the crust right up to the meringue. She never really followed a recipe and I’d always been afraid to attempt one without some detailed guidance.

Earlier this week, I went through her recipe box and swiped some of her wonderful dessert recipes. I found this recipe for butterscotch pie. This wasn’t one that she made regularly but I wanted to try it because I figured if I could make this one, then I could tackle her coconut and chocolate pies with confidence (and without an exact recipe).

Friends, this pie is the real deal. There is nothing you can get out of a box that’s going to compare with the taste of a real custard pie made with good old eggs, whole milk, sugar and butter. The recipe that I found was a bit, shall we say, vague so I’ve re-written it with slightly more detail.

I confess that I did use a frozen Pillsbury crust. My mother still loves me.

Butterscotch Pie

1 Baked pie shell

Filling:
3 egg yolks
2 cups of whole milk
1 cup of brown sugar
6 tablespoons of flour
1/2 teaspoon of salt

Combine eggs and milk in a deep dish skillet (I used cast iron) or a medium saucepan. Don’t turn on heat until mixture is well combined. You do not want scrambled eggs. Once combined well, turn on heat to medium. Add in sugar, flour and salt. Cook, stirring constantly until thick. Then add:

4 tablespoons of butter
1 to 2 tablespoons of brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla

Stir into filling until well combned. Pour into baked pie shell.

For the meringue:

Beat 3 egg whites with 3 tablespoons of sugar until stiff peaks form. Pour meringue on top of filled pie and bake at 400 degrees until the meringue is brown, about 10 to 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

