Emily’s Kahlua Cake

There’s a show on Food Network called “The Best Thing I Ever Ate”. If I were on that show and the topic was desserts, I would surely mention this cake.

I first enjoyed this cake as a college student. It’s the recipe of my friend Emily and although I have had the recipe for years, this was my first time making it. It’s moist, chocolate-y and just amazing all around. And a little boozy.

I saw several versions of this cake on Pinterest but none were exactly like Emily’s. Yes, you really do put a cup of oil. Just go with it. It’s not something you’re going to eat everyday. All things in moderation is my motto.

These make delightful gifts if you make mini-bundts instead of one big cake. For minis, fill each mini bunt half full and bake for 20 minutes. Makes 17 minis.

Emily’s Kahlua Cake

IMG_2393

1 box yellow cake mix
1/2 cup sugar
1 (6 oz) pkg. instant chocolate pudding mix*
1 cup oil
4 eggs
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup vodka
1/4 cup Kahlua

Preheat oven to 350.

Grease and flour bundt pan**. Mix ingredients for 4 minutes. Pour into pan; bake for 50 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Cool 10 minutes; turn onto plate. Poke holes and pour glaze over cake.

Glaze

1/2 cup confectioners sugar
1/4 cup Kahlua

Mix with spoon until smooth. Pour over poked cake. Refrigerate. Will keep in refrigerator for 7 to 10 days.

Notes:
* I never “flour” a pan when the recipe calls for it. I just “grease” only. However, I read a good tip about flouring pans for chocolate cakes: use cocoa powder instead of flour so that you don’t have white flour showing on your dark cake.
** I could not find this size pudding so I used the small box which is 3.9 oz I believe

Leave a Reply

