Quick Corn Pudding

Happy New Year! I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season. Ours was obviously special since it was our first with our baby boy. I didn’t cook as much as I normally would due to having the little one to take care of but I certainly didn’t go hungry. We hosted a dinner on the Saturday before Christmas for my side of the family. I served baked ham, mashed potatoes, green beans (home canned by Mom), rolls, homemade pecan pie, sweet tea and this corn pudding.

Corn pudding was not a dish that I grew up with. I don’t remember where I first tried it to be honest. I do remember how I came upon my recipe for it. For a long time, I subscribed to a recipe card collection called “Grandma’s Kitchen”. Although I have a ton of the recipe cards, I really have not tried many of the recipes. An exception was the recipe for corn pudding which I made many times. In fact, I made it so much that rather than keeping it in its recipe box with its other recipe brethren, I kept it out on the baker’s rack “where I could find it”.

You know what’s coming right…after remodeling the kitchen, moving my cookbooks to the office, giving away the baker’s rack, cleaning out the cookbooks to make the office a nursery..I could not find the recipe. However, it’s so simple that I pretty much knew it by heart so after a few quick glances at other recipes online, I felt like I had a reasonable idea of how to make it. It turned out great so my memory served me well.

This is a thick almost bread like dish and really not a “pudding” in my opinion. I have seen the recipe called a corn “casserole” or “dish” in other places so perhaps it’s not corn pudding in the traditional sense. It’s always popular though when I make it! And like the broccoli casserole, I love it at room temperature when it’s left over time!

Quick Corn Pudding
IMG_2339

1 (15 ounce) can creamed corn
1 (15.25 ounce) can whole kernel corn
1/2 stick butter, melted
1 box of Jiffy corn muffin mix
1 cup of sour cream
2 eggs, beaten

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Spray a 1 1/2 quart baking dish with nonstick spray.

Drain whole kernel corn. Combine with butter, cream-style corn, sour cream and corn muffin mix in a medium bowl and mix well.

Add the beaten eggs to the mixture, and mix until all ingredients are moistened.

Spoon batter into prepared baking dish. Bake until set, about 45 minutes. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

