Found on Pinterest: Neiman Marcus Dip

A few weeks ago, I was invited to bring a “snack” to a small retirement party at work. Being 9 months pregnant, I wanted something easy and quick. I decided to scroll through my Pinterest pins and see what I could find. I’d had this recipe pinned for a long time. As I usually do, I Googled the recipe to look for other versions and comments. There are several out there but none of them really explained WHY it’s called Neiman Marcus dip. I ended up going with the recipe that I’d pinned although I did take another recipe’s advice and toast the almonds slightly.

So how was it? It was delicious! It reminded me a lot of the old traditional cheese ball recipe with cream cheese, green onion, and dried beef. It was a huge hit at the party…not a bite was left. Good thing that I kept myself a small stash at home!

I would definitely make this again but I think I’ll call it “Cheese Ball Dip” instead of Neiman Marcus Dip. Rolls off the tongue easier…

Neiman Marcus Dip

Image

5 or 6 green onions
8 oz. shredded cheddar cheese
1 1/2 cups mayonnaise
1 jar real bacon bits
1 pkg. slivered almonds

Chop the green onions. Mix onions, cheese, mayo, bacon bits, and
slivered almonds together. Chill for a couple of hours.

I served with Club Crackers.

Minda’s Notes: As I mentioned earlier, I toasted the almonds slightly in a hot skillet just to bring out the flavor a bit. I let them cool before adding to the dip. Also, I normally would not use jarred bacon bits but due to being pregnant and tired I took a short cut…and they were actually quite good. I used the Meijer brand.

2 thoughts on “Found on Pinterest: Neiman Marcus Dip

  1. I’d never heard of this but had to try it when I saw it here. SO GOOD! I really love dips so I just made this for us, but am definitely going to be bringing it to some parties this year!

  2. Pingback: Neiman Marcus Dip | Veronica's Cornucopia

Leave a Reply

