Frito Salad

Last week, I needed a quick dish for a potluck lunch at work. This one came to mind. A friend brought this to our homecoming tailgate party last year (Hi Karen!) and I thought it was just fabulous.

Frito Salad
Frito Salad
3 (14 oz) cans of whole kernel corn, drained
1/4 red bell pepper, diced
1/4 green bell pepper, diced
1/4 small red onion, diced
1 cup grated cheddar cheese (I used Sargento Reduced Fat Cheddar Jack)
1 1/4 cup mayonnaise (I used Hellman’s Light)
1 (9.25 oz) bag of Chili Cheese Fritos

Combine corn, peppers, onion, cheese and mayonnaise in a bowl.
Place in refrigerator until ready to serve. Just before serving, mix in Fritos. I saved a handful of chips to lay on top as garnishment. Serve immediately.

This salad is not great as a leftover. The chips get too soggy. And I say this as someone who thinks the best nachos are the ones on the very bottom of the plate! So, eat up!

4 thoughts on “Frito Salad

  1. I just had to make this when I saw it. It’s like two of my favorites combined – similar to a Mexican corn dip I like, with Fritos mixed in! Like a chips and dips party! My favorite! 😀 Soooo stinkin good. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: Frito Salad | Veronica's Cornucopia

Leave a Reply

