Pioneer Woman’s Strawberry Oatmeal Bars

I’ve known about Pioneer Woman the blogger for several years but was never a follower. It wasn’t until she began her show on Food Network that I really paid attention to her recipes. And I really wasn’t enticed to try anything until I saw her make these bars a couple of Sundays ago.

I mistakenly thought I had plenty of oatmeal when I began making these (d’oh!) so I ended up being a half cup short. I increased the amount of flour by a half cup. Because of this, my bars are not as oat-y as they probably should be. Still, these are delicious. They remind me of a homemade biscuit with strawberry jam. I love them with a cold glass of milk for breakfast or as an evening snack. I took samples into the office and got rave reviews. I will definitely make again, possibly with blueberry jam or apple butter in place of the strawberry jam.

IMG_2183
Strawberry Oatmeal Bars
1 3/4 sticks salted butter, cut into pieces, plus more for greasing pan
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cup oats
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
One 10 to 12-ounce jar strawberry preserves
Directions
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter a 9-by-13-inch rectangular pan.

Mix together the butter, flour, oats, brown sugar, baking powder and salt. Press half the oat mixture into the prepared pan. Spread with the strawberry preserves. Sprinkle the other half of the oat mixture over the top and pat lightly. Bake until light brown, 30 to 40 minutes. Let cool completely, and then cut into squares.
Note: I used unsalted butter and no one was the wiser.

Per serving: Calories: 177; Total Fat: 7 grams; Saturated Fat: 4 grams; Protein: 2 grams; Total carbohydrates: 28 grams; Sugar: 18 gram; Fiber: 1 gram; Cholesterol: 18 milligrams; Sodium: 72 milligrams

Leave a Reply

