Light Fried Rice

This recipe came my way at a Weight Watchers meeting a couple of years ago. I’ve made it several times since I acquired it so it’s a favorite. The original recipe calls for eggs. I don’t like eggs in my fried rice. So, I leave them out. If you want eggs, then by all means scramble up a couple and set them aside to add in at the last step.

This recipe is not going to be the star of the meal. It’s definitely a sidekick. However, you can add in some chicken, pork, shrimp, tofu, etc. and make a meal out of it. I like it for dishes that you serve over rice like a stir fry, or a saucy dish like Bourbon Chicken. I like to make this on the weekends and eat it as a quick side through the week.

IMG_1729

Light Fried Rice

Cooking spray

1 cup carrots, shredded or finely chopped

1 cup scallions or onions, chopped and divided

3 cups cooked white rice

1/2 cup frozen green peas, thawed

1/4 cup low sodium soy salt

Coat a large skillet with cooking spray and set over medium-high heat. Add carrots and all but two tablespoons of the scallions, saute until carrots are crisp tender, about 2 to 3 minutes.

Stir in cooked rice, peas and soy sauce; cook until heated through, stirring once or twice, about 1 minute. Add in remaining scallions (and if you want to add in scrambled eggs add those now, I repeat they must be scrambled not raw at this point); heat through.

Makes about 6 servings, 3/4 cup each. My recipe calculator shows 167 calories per serving.

Leave a Reply

