Found on Pinterest: Bourbon Chicken in the Slow Cooker

I’ve always found those Cajun-Chinese places that you often see in mall food courts rather curious. I also find them very tasty. My favorite dish at these joints is Bourbon Chicken. I was very proud this summer when my 8-year-old niece announced that this was also her dish of choice when we visited the mall. “Bourbon chicken with fried rice and extra sauce, and can you please put the extra sauce right on my rice?” was her order to be exact.

I pinned a couple of Bourbon Chicken recipes and chose this one because it was important to me that the chicken be falling apart tender, and the slow cooker is the best way to get that kind of results, in my opinion.

This was honestly one of the best recipes I’ve made in a long time. Sweet and spicy, and the sauce was the perfect consistency. It wasn’t an exact match to the mall but it was pretty darn close. I cut the red pepper flakes down to 1/2 teaspoon and still felt it was a touch hot. And I like heat. Next time, (oh yes, there will be a next time) I will probably cut it down to a 1/4 teaspoon. I also only used about a pound of chicken but kept the sauce recipe the same. As The Niece would say, extra sauce is always good.

I served it over my Light Fried Rice that I’ll share later in the week.

IMG_1734

Bourbon Chicken in the Slow Cooker

2 lbs boneless chicken breasts cut into bite-size pieces

2 tablespoon cornstarch

2 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

1 garlic clove crushed

1/4 teaspoon ginger

1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

1/4 cup apple juice

1/3 cup light brown sugar

2 tablespoons  ketchup or chili sauce (I used Thai chili sauce)

1 tablespoon cider vinegar

1/2 cup water

1/3 cup reduced sodium soy sauce

Whisk all ingredients into slow cooker and add chicken. Cook on low for 8 hours or high for 4.

Using a little under a pound of chicken, I got about three servings. The full recipe as shown would probably make about 6 servings.

2 thoughts on “Found on Pinterest: Bourbon Chicken in the Slow Cooker

  1. This recipe is awful!! Pick a different Bourbon Chicken recipe to make. This taste nothing like mall Bourbon Chicken or anything from an Asan Restaurant.

Leave a Reply

