Found on Pinterest: Ramen Noodle Upgrade

Like many of you, I’m sure, I’m kind of hooked on Pinterest. I could spend hours there and that’s just on food alone. I’ve been trying to actually cook some of the stuff I find, so I’ve decided to start a new category on the blog to review recipes found there.

When I saw this one, I admit that my first reaction was bleh. Ramen noodles? Never really been a fan. I sort of felt like one of those snooty chefs on Chopped who is appalled to find canned pears in their mystery basket. “Tastes just like Pad Thai!” the pin said. Yeah right. Then I saw the pinned recipe was from Martha Stewart’s site so I thought, well if it’s good enough for Martha

Original recipe can be found here.

Ramen Noodle Upgrade

1 package Ramen noodles

1 pack noodle flavoring

1 tablespoon soy sauce

2 tablespoons chunky peanut butter

2 teaspoons Sriracha chili sauce

1/2 scallion, thinly sliced (optional)

Boil noodles with flavor pack and drain off most liquid. Toss with soy sauce, peanut butter, and Sriracha. Garnish with scallion. Eat immediately.

My take on it:

I used smooth peanut butter rather than chunky.

Please note that it says two TEASPOONS of Sriracha sauce. If this is your first time using this sauce, it is quite warm.

I also added two teaspoons of Asian chili sauce to add a little bit of sweetness and a touch of additional heat.

I only used about half the seasoning pack to cut back on sodium.

While the noodles cooked, I sautéed some chopped cabbage and matchstick sized carrot slivers in a little sesame oil. Once these veggies had softened, I added in a handful of frozen peas and stir fried everything until the peas were warmed through. Then I dumped the veggies into the saucepan with the noodles and sauce and stirred it all up.

The result: This was FANTASTIC. I loved it. Did it taste like Pad Thai as the Pinterest pin said? I have no idea, I’ve never had Pad Thai. I suspect that no, it probably didn’t. But was it a quick and delicious meal that was easy to boost up on the health meter by adding some veggies?  Yes, yes it was.

Lesson learned: Don’t scoff at Martha.

Leave a Reply

