Joy Bauer’s Ginger-Spiced Pumpkin Muffins

Muffins are a great grab-n-go breakfast item. Finding ones that taste good and are healthy though isn’t always easy. I’ve been disappointed many more times than I’ve been pleased when trying healthy muffin recipes.

Enter this recipe from Joy Bauer. Joy is a nutrition expert and I really can’t recommend her book Food Cures enough times to you. She not only provides detailed information on the best foods for you, she also explains why the foods are healthy and the benefits of their nutrients. I passed my mom my copy of Food Cures shortly after my dad’s heart attack. That was six years ago and she still uses it constantly.( I bought another copy for myself.) She also makes these muffins often. So, when I found myself with some leftover pumpkin, I decided to try them. I mean, surely Mom and Joy wouldn’t steer me wrong.

The results were fabulous. Many times “healthy” muffins are dry. These are moist and tasty. I also found them quite filling. I added ground flax and chia seeds to mine just to boost the nutrients. The chia seeds add a little bit of bite similiar to a poppy seed.  I also used almond milk rather than cow’s milk, and I subbed in a couple of drops of orange extract for the zest. Other than that, I followed Joy’s recipe which can be found here along with the nutritional information.

Ginger-Spiced Pumpkin Muffins

oil spray

1/2 cup sugar, brown (packed)

1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour

2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon, ground

1 teaspoon ginger, ground

1/2 teaspoon salt, Kosher

1 egg

1 cup milk, fat-free

1/2 cup pumpkin, puree, 100% pure

1/4 cup canola oil

1/2 teaspoon orange peel (zest), grated

 Preheat the oven to 375°F. Lightly spray 12 muffin cups with nonstick oil spray.

In a large mixing bowl, stir together the brown sugar, flour, baking powder, cinnamon, ginger, and salt. Tip: Use a whisk to stir your dry ingredients. Does a much better job than using a spoon…little tip I learned from Chef Duff Goldman.

In a small bowl, beat the egg for 30 seconds, until foamy. Add the milk, pumpkin, oil, and orange zest. Beat well. Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture, and stir until the flour mixture is moistened.

Fill the muffin cups three-quarters full with batter. Bake for 15 minutes, until the tops spring back when you touch them with a finger. Turn out muffins onto a wire rack to cool. Once cool, you can freeze the muffins, tightly wrapped, for up to 2 months.

Leave a Reply

