Apple Dumplings

This is a departure from the previous healthy recipes but trust me, it’s worth the splurge. These apple dumplings are a hit and have become a tradition for our annual homecoming tailgate party each fall. People always ask for the recipe and are shocked when I tell them the ingredients include…Mountain Dew! Believe it or not, the soda and butter combine to make a sweet almost carmel like sauce.

I was given this recipe by my eighty-something years young great-aunt. I thought it sounded like a terrific recipe to try. A couple of weeks later, a similiar recipe showed up in Everyday with Rachael Ray magazine. Who knew my aunt was so cutting edge?

I have given this recipe out to a few folks and one friend told me that she used 7-Up instead of Mountain Dew. I haven’t tried that but she said it worked fine. Don’t be put off by all of the butter and the sugary soda…remember all things in moderation!

Apple Dumplings

8 oz can of crescent rolls
1 apple, cored and cut into 8 wedges (I use Golden Delicious)
1 stick butter
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
3/4 cup Mountain Dew

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Unfold the crescent rolls. Place an apple wedge on the wide end of each piece of dough and roll up; place the dumplings in an 8 inch square baking dish.
In a saucepan, melt the butter with the sugar and cinnamon over medium heat. Stir in the Mountain Dew. It will foam a bit. Pour the mixture on the dumplings. Cover with foil and bake for 15 minutes; remove the foil and bake 15 minutes longer.

3 thoughts on “Apple Dumplings

  1. I’ve made this with peaches instead of apples (and I sprinkled lemon zest over before baking) and that was great, but for some reason I still haven’t tried it in the original form. I’m weird! PW I think made these famous and her post is why I tried my own version. She puts the sugar and butter and soda over the top so they get a nice crackly sugar coating on top too, which I liked. These things are pure evil but eating one isn’t too bad. 🙂

Leave a Reply

