Skinny Taste’s Pumpkin Granola-My Way

One of my favorite food blogs is Skinny Taste www.skinnytaste.com. I have tried so many of Gina’s recipes and have never been disappointed.

I made my own granola from Jamie Oliver’s recipe a few years ago and LOVED it. I really hadn’t planned on making granola last weekend but everything sort of fell together perfectly. My mom and I had gone on a little shopping trip to a store in my home town that sells bulk health foods. I had picked up pepitas (pumpkin seeds) and a box of chia seeds. I didn’t really know what I was going to do with either. I came home from my visit and was catching up on Skinny Taste posts-I checked it about once a week-when I saw pumpkin granola. I knew I had to try it.

The original recipe is here. I made some adjustments.

First, I omitted the nuts. For one thing, I didn’t have any on hand and nuts tend to be high in fat. I know it’s a “good” fat but still, I wanted to lighten the recipe up even more.

Second, I reduced the amount of dried fruit down to 1/4 cup. Dried fruit is full of sugar! If you are going to eat fruit, you should eat the real thing not the candy version. I chopped up 1/4 cup of low sugar dried pineapple (another purchase that day) and substituted that for the dried cranberries.

Instead of maple syrup, I used agave syrup. I don’t keep maple syrup around. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever bought real maple syrup. You could use honey as well. (This is not a diss on maple syrup, it’s actually a very natural and clean sweetner).

I added in two tablespoons of my newly purchased chia seeds. They are full of heart healthy omega-3 fats you know.

Other than that, I stayed true to the recipe. I had everything else on hand-yes, even quinoa and flax seed. (I can hear my friends now “You WOULD have that stuff on hand!”)

The granola smelled wonderful while it baked and it was very good. I put a 1/3 cup scoop in my organic Greek yogurt each morning. Not only did it taste good, but it was very filling. I usually find myself looking for a snack around 10 AM but not this week with my super healthy pumpkin granola!

I definitely would-and will-make this again. Don’t be intimidated if you don’t have everything you need to make it or if you don’t want to buy a lot of funky ingredients for one recipe. If you have a store nearby that sells food in bulk bins, just buy enough quinoa or flax to make the recipe. Both ingredients are really beneficial to your health so I encourage to try them but you can leave them out and just use more oats.

Leave a Reply

