Nutter Butter Truffles

“Oreo Truffles” or “Oreo Balls” are a popular potluck dessert in these parts. I’m not a huge fan of Oreos but when I saw “Nutter Butter Truffles” on Pinterest, I was instantly intrigued. The first recipe that I found was not very specific so I ended up doing a Google search for “Nutter Butter Truffles” which resulted in all sorts of variations. I ended up just kind of making this up as I went based on a few of the recipes that I found.

I normally don’t blog recipes step by step but I thought it might be helpful for this one. These were a big hit at our tailgate party this weekend. Hope you enjoy!

Nutter Butter Truffles

1 16oz package of Nutter Butter Cookies
8oz cream cheese, softened (I used reduced fat)
1 16oz package of candy coating such as CandiQuik*

First, remove the cookies from their package and crush. You can do this with a food processor or by hand. (I chose the hand method since I hate the clean up on my food processor. You can dump the cookies into a large Ziploc type bag and crush with a rolling-pin or do what I did, which is dump the cookies in a bowl and gently crush with a clean heavy object. I used a jar of cocoa.) I crushed the cookies not quite as much as I would crush graham crackers for a crust because I wanted a little bit of the cookie pieces to remain. My crumbles looked like this:

Next, mix in the cream cheese. I did this by hand also. Just keep mixing until the cream cheese and crumbs form a sort of dough. Then, take small pinches of dough and roll into a ball. If you want to make sure your balls are uniform in size, you could use a small scoop or mixing spoon. I prefer a more rustic approach so I just winged it. Using this method, I came up with two dozen truffles. I placed them in an airtight container and let them chill in the refrigerator for about an hour.

I prepared the candy coating per the package directions and dunked each truffle then placed them on wax paper to cool. The candy coating works quickly so they were set in a matter of minutes. Then, it was back to the fridge for my round little friends.

And that’s it! Easy, delightful little treat!

Notes:
*This is an instance where I chose convenience over quality. I hate, hate, hate melting chocolate and the clean up from melting chocolate. The candy coating comes in its own little disposable, microwave tray and since I was pressed for time, it seemed like the best choice. It does taste good but I’m sure a milk chocolate or white chocolate coating would taste terrific too. Use whatever you are comfortable with as a cook.

Leave a Reply

