Coffee Cake Muffins

I started cooking at a young age, and in the early years, I loved to bake. Over time, I lost interest in baking. I know some people who say they love to bake but do not like to cook. I sort of feel the opposite, I enjoy cooking much more than baking. (I enjoy either activity more than cleaning but that’s another story). Baking is very technical. You have to be exact or things won’t turn out right. Cooking is different. It requires less precision. You can save a dish that’s going wrong by adding more seasoning, adding more liquid, cooking it down, etc. With baking, once you put that cake in the oven you’re committed. There’s no turning back.

I’m trying to do better. I’ve pledged to baking one homemade item per month starting in March. Let’s see if it sticks.

This recipe however made it past my persnickety feelings on baking. It’s easy and so, so tasty. I love cinnamon and these muffins smell incredible while baking. The texture is like that of a cake doughnut. These are amazing with coffee.

I must shout out to my friend Jeremy (Hey Jeremy!)  who sent me this recipe and said something like “If you’re looking for recipes, I would be happy to help eat this one.” So when his birthday rolled around, I made some to share with him. The recipe was from Can You Stay for Dinner which is a super awesome food blog that you should totally check out. Her post on this recipe is here.

IMG_0668

Coffee Cake Muffins

1-¾ cup flour
1-½ teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon nutmeg
½ teaspoon cinnamon
⅓ cup oil
¾ cup granulated sugar
1 egg
¾ cup milk

For the Cinnamon Sugar Topping:
1/4 cup butter, melted
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1 Tablespoon cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 350º. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg, and cinnamon.

In a separate, large bowl, combine oil, sugar, egg and milk.

Add dry ingredients and stir only to combine.

Coat your muffin pan well with nonstick cooking spray and divide the batter evenly among the cups.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

Run a knife around the sides of the muffin and shake them out of the pan while still hot.

Melt the butter in a bowl.

Combine the white sugar with the cinnamon in another bowl.

Dip muffins in butter, then into the sugar/cinnamon mix. Let cool.

Makes 12 muffins

One thought on “Coffee Cake Muffins

  1. Hey, Minda!! :) Thanks for the shout-out!! I must say, the muffins were AWESOME! Best birthday surprise I had last year!!

Leave a Reply

